Academics » MCA/MN State Standards

MCA/MN State Standards

The Minnesota K-12 Academic Standards are the statewide expectations for student achievement in K-12 public schools. The standards identify the knowledge and skills that all students must achieve in a content area by the end of a grade level or grade band.
Minnesota has state standards for these content areas:
•English language arts
•Social studies
•Physical education
•The arts, but districts may choose to develop their own arts standards.
School districts must develop their own district standards for these content areas:
•World Languages
•Career and Technical Education
School districts determine how their students will meet the standards by developing courses and curriculum and choosing teaching methods.
Link to Minnesota Department of Education website for more information: